Django Django – Django Django

Released – 30 January 2012
Members – David Maclean, Vincent Neff, Jimmy Dixon, and Tommy Grace
Label – Because Music

Wow. I’m still getting over the year in music that was 2011. I still can’t stop listening to Wye Oak, EMA, War on Drugs and certain M83 tracks.

But here we have it. My first album of the year. I’ve spent a lot of time with this one already and I’m certain it’ll be appearing on my end of year lists.

It was here at Any Decent Music where I read the first few things about this band. They shared comparisons with that of the late Beta Band. At that moment I was sold. I’m one of those people who believe that the Beta Band will survive the clutter of music in this time frame. They had something special. With further research I learn that Django Django member David Maclean is John Maclean (Beta Band/Aliens) younger brother. Bingo

From the Introduction into ‘Hail Bop’, ‘Firewater’, ‘Waveforms’ to Wor. It’s all impressive.

Please if you have not heard this record yet it’s time to get onto it. It’s fabulous, fresh and strangely uplifting.

Sounds like – a date between the Beta Band and Ennio Morricone.

Eight.Five/Ten.

Leave a Reply

